After All This Time?

After All This Time?

I’m re-reading the Harry Potter Series this summer. This will be the the 7th time I’ve read the series, sooo I think it’s safe to say I’m a pretty big fan of these books. I love re-reading this series because no matter how many times I read the books I get sucked right back into the wizarding world as if it was my first time through them.

I love that these books literally never get old. I still have all the same emotions that I felt the first time I read the words. I still am in awe of Dumbledore’s unwavering wisdom, I still laugh at Fred and George’s tricks, I will always sneer at Malfoy and his gang, I can feel a phantom prickling of my nonexistent scar whenever Voldemort is near, and I smile every time Harry, Ron, and Hermione take me on a new adventure.

When I read any book, I get completely enveloped in the story. I get so invested in the characters and the plot that the story tends to spill out into my reality. But with Harry Potter this phenomenon has actually been magnified. It’s more than a story for me, it has been a guiding force and an epic adventure that has been a part of my life for a really long time.

I grew up alongside the characters, as many people my age have. I started reading HP with my parents when I was in grade 3. That’s 11 years ago people! My whole family has a lot invested in the series and Harry Potter references are frequent in my household (including but not limited to calling each other the dark lord when we are angry, getting time-outs for Avada-Kedavraing each other in imaginary play, and using Dumbledore’s wise words as life lessons on a daily basis).

Needless to say HP is pretty important to me. And it is not just the magical world that I find so mesmerizing (don’t get me wrong the magic part is EPIC) but there is so much value in the content of the books. One does not need to look too deeply before discovering the positive messages that run in every book. One of my longstanding role models to this day happens to be the fictional, yet extremely strong and inspirational Minerva McGonagall. So what if one of my role models happen to be fictional?! I believe that the things we perceive as real, are in fact real in their effects. Besides, each and every character is crafted to perfection and they all hold a special place in my heart.

Though I get so enveloped in these books that fiction and reality become inextricably intertwined with one another, I am a firm believer in this quote by the forever wise Dumbledore:

“Of course it is happening inside your head, but why on earth should that mean that it is not real?”

always

Categories: Inspire, Photography, Writing | Tags: , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “After All This Time?

  1. Love that pic!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

